7-27-10: What to Do After Foreclosure

July 26, 2010 at 7:19 pm 25 comments

In conjunction with the WYPR Newsroom, we’re taking a look at what happens to a family after foreclosure.

As Mary Rose Madden reported this morning, the Castro family may not have a home after Wednesday night. We talk with Carol Gilbert of the Maryland Department of Housing and Glenda Sierra-Schulz of Southeast CDC, a housing counseling group.

Homeowners facing foreclosure can call the Maryland HOPE Hotline at 1-877-462-7555 or visit MDHOPE.org.

Entry filed under: economy, On Air, Safety Net. Tags: , , , .

7-27-10: Is Our Vaccine System Healthy? 7-28-10: Maryland Morning Culture Calendar

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nick  |  July 27, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    They should consider a short sale, or just sign the deed to the bank to avoid the drop in credit

    Reply
  • 2. RobertJStrupp  |  July 28, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    You can’t do a short sale or assign the property without the “bank’s” approval.

    Reply
  • 3. J  |  July 28, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    The banks have all the power and don’t all help home owners. Not all banks will do a short sale or give a Deed in Lieu to a homeowner….

    Reply
  • 4. S  |  September 2, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    We signed a contract with out mortgage company to do a short sale, this was a contract they sent to us, after they said no to a modification, I sent them all the information they needed 3 times and then last week they called and said they were pulling out of the contract because we failed to send them everything they asked for. What the heck!? This whole thing is a joke! We’ve tried working with them, we took all the advice of calling them when I first lost my job almost 2 years ago, before we were behind on any payments, like all the “experts” tell you to do, and they wouldn’t do anything for us, they wouldn’t even return our phone calls, then when we ran through every penny we had trying to keep up with the mortgage and couldn’t pay anymore, then they started calling us and we again tried to work with them, we did everything they said to do and they still turned us down, then they said we could do a short sale and then backed out of it. It’s a JOKE!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Amanda  |  September 23, 2010 at 11:34 am

    My home forclosed on me in April at a public auction on the courthouse steps less than 1 yr after I lost my job. Now the courthouse (Treasurer’s Office) is still trying to bill me for the water and sewer and I am homeless and can’t even afford shelter for my child and I. I have sent copies of the court papers confirming the sale as legit, but they still want me to pay water and sewer. What do I do? (I don’t qualify for financial aid because I get child support of $600/month.)

    Reply
    • 6. S  |  September 24, 2010 at 7:47 am

      Amanda, I am so sorry you are having to go through all this, What state do you live in? It doesn’t seem right that you can’t get any financial help from DSS. We are still trying to do a short sale despite the fact that our mortgage company backed out of the deal they had with us, if it doesn’t sell than I guess we will be forclosed on, not much we can do about it at this point. I just wanted you to know that I feel your pain, I think it’s absolutely ridiculous that they are trying to get you to pay the sewage and water, don’t pay it, what can they do? put a lien on a house you no longer own, lol? consult free counsel through DSS and find out if they have a leg to stand on. I wish you much luck and I pray that God watches over you and your daughter and know that he will bring you through this.

      God bless
      S

      Reply
  • [...] Morning and WYPR’s news department looked at what happens to families after a foreclosure, and where they can turn for help. Reporter Mary Rose Madden introduced us to the Castros, a Dundalk family who were foreclosed-on [...]

    Reply
  • 8. gio  |  October 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    I find it funny the banks were “bailed” out with taxpayer funds, then they “mishandle” the paperwork because they are in a RUSH to hurry the foreclosure process? Why are they in such a rush unless they know they cannot provide the “wet ink” documents..

    Reply
  • 9. michael chambers sr  |  January 12, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    how do u find out if the bank owes me money or if there is a law suit for the rush of foreclosure process

    Reply
  • 10. Digarrett  |  March 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    I am going through the same thing. I began the HAMP program in 09. After being told I was accepted I called every Friday for 3 months. Then on a Saturday they called me and said they couldn’t get a hold of me. After re-applying, sending in all the forms, I then sought out Governor O’Malley at a public event and handed him all my forms. Martin O’Malley then sent my case to DHR, who then passed it on to Frederick Community Actions Agency who sat on it for 6+ months. Now I am in the foreclosure loop. Governor O’Malley tells us he put in 3 million dollars for this. Has anyone in MD ever qualified for the program with out the run around of “we didn’t get for A of page 120″. This is an out right scam!

    Reply
    • 11. Maresa  |  May 13, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      I also was told I qualified and for months continuosly called for updates, was then finally told oh well we received paper work but that doesn’t mean you qualify, I told them that I did qualify “how would I know what to send in and where to send it to!” To make a long story short I got the run around and are now trying to do a deed in lieu.

      Reply
  • 12. S  |  March 7, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Let’s see what to do after foreclosure? Move out and rent, that is what we ended up doing, because really, what bank is going to look at us for another mortgage? NONE!!!

    So now we live in a 2 bedroom, 1 bath basement apartment, but hey at least we have a roof over our heads.

    I would like to hear the Morning and WYPR’s news department’s take on all these other families like me that have been commenting here and are or have gone through this bogus government scam!

    Reply
  • 13. Marjorie Vanterpool  |  April 11, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I purchased my town home in 2009 and immediately enrolled in the Equity Accelerator Program. My mortgage was paid on time for the entire first year. In August of 2010 my mother suffered two heart attacks and I traveled to Albany, N.Y. to care for her and subsequently move her to Maryland. I called SunTrust bank on September 5th and requested that they change the date for my Sept. 15 withdrawal to October 5. I authorized the bank to take three payments in the month of October, which would have kept me on track with my payments. After my return I discovered that, despite my request, SunTrust Bank withdrew the Sept. 25th payment, which immediately created a series of financial difficulties for me. My checks for light, water, and telephone were all returned and the bank began to levy overdraft charges to my account. I was transferred between the mortgage dept. and the bank over the next two months trying to have the mistake corrected and encountered frustration as I was told by bank officials that it was not the bank’s fault, it was the Mortgage Dept’s fault and vice-versa. I was forced to secure a pay day loan to reconnect my utilities. Two months later the Mortgage Dept. finally acknowledged the mistake and the bank credited my account for the overdrafts but by now my mortgage was two months behind. I continued to make a payment every month, but the bank began sending threatening letters of foreclosure. I called and spoke with mortgage reps. on several occasions, having to repeat my situation as a different person answered every time I called. I was told to just continue making payments. I did as instructed but recently discovered that SunTrust placed one of my November monthly payment in escrow instead of crediting my account as I intended. I made a payment in January but recently discovered that it was returned by the bank. I immediately called the bank but was informed that my file was forwarded to their attorney to commence foreclosure proceedings in January although I made a full monthly payment. I also made a payment in February but was told that this payment was also being returned. This is so unfair, no fault of my own, and I would like to request that this action against my home be stopped. I completed documents for loss mitigation but have not heard from Suntrust Bank. I call on a weekly basis as instructed but instead of assistance I just received a letter from them stating that Mortgage Mitigationhas been unable to contact me, which is absolutely not true. In disgust, I contacted an attorney for assistance and although I paid him $2,000 of the money I was saving for the mortgage, have heard nothing from his office within the last week. I have fought for my survival, worked hard, and earned my way through life and raised my children without assistance from anyone. I am continuing to work tirelessly to help my three children complete their university education. I am responsible and able to pay my mortgage and wish to have this action stopped and my mortgage modified to allow me to retain my home.

    Respectfully,

    Reply
  • 14. Wendy Kovin  |  July 13, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    I keep hearing about all of these families being foreclosed on but I never, ever hear what happens to them when it’s all done and said. We have been waiting for our foreclosure to be “signed by the judge” for 8 months and thank God it’s taking so long because once we are evicted we will be homeless. Where do people go? Do they take us outback and shoot us? I almost wish they would because that seems a lot better than the future we are facing. I am so scared. We are not bad people. We didn’t run our credit cards through the roof or spend our money frivolously. We just had some bad luck at a bad time to have bad luck. What do we do now?

    Reply
    • 15. Diana  |  August 30, 2011 at 2:10 am

      I have the same question. Now what do I do?

      Reply
  • 16. Charlene  |  April 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

    I sought help for the Maryland Hope organization twice and neither time was I helped. The agencies that they refer you too are the problems. Those folks work when they want to or they are overwelmed because they have on a few staff.

    Reply
    • 17. Jacqueline  |  September 26, 2012 at 1:11 am

      These people at this organization do nothing for the homeowner in trouble. All they are doing is collecting a paycheck. I wasted so much time dealing with them. I ended up paying a mortgage lawyer to help me. At least you know that they will be working in your behalf.

      Reply
  • 18. kelly ann voyce  |  August 12, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    The entire ordeal is a scam…..all of it. The local and federal govt claims the are helping….helping who? Themselves, first and foremost, themselves! I havent met 1 person thats been willing to help….not a one! Lost my job, Maryland State Government job, after being out 6 weeks on FMLA leave, the Human Resources Office sent me to the State Medical Director for an examination /evaluation and when he said I would be unable to return to my job, i was forced to resign or be terminated. And yet when i went to any MD State Govt agency for help, ive been denied any assistance. So ive lost my job, health insurance, my home, and ive been homeless, ive lost my self worth, self dignity and still unable to receive any help. The entire thing is a freakin joke, hoax, scam, and they should be so lucky to lose their job over all of the lies. But they won’t, they will all be promoted for saving money. Whatever,

    Reply
  • 19. Ayodeji Badaki  |  September 14, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Frankly, the best way to deal with these banks is to have an attorney representing you. It may cost you a little, but the one thing these banks understand is force. There are many programs available to homeowners but my experience has been that the banks simply have not been offering them to homeowners until someone highlights all the state and Federal laws the banks are violating and threatens them with a lawsuit.

    Reply
  • 20. Debbi  |  September 16, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Has anyone ever qualified for a mortgage modification?? I’ve been going thru this craziness for 3 years and now I’m in foreclosure. I never stopped making a monthly payment, I just couldn’t always make a full payment. They returned my check in Aug. and now they won’t take my payment. Does anyone know if the mortgage modification is even a real document??

    Reply
    • 21. mdconsumerlawyer  |  September 17, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Yes people do qualify for and receive modifications, however, servicers have not always been great about given them without you applying a certain amount of force. Have you spoken with a housing counselor?

      Reply
      • 22. Jacqueline  |  September 26, 2012 at 1:17 am

        I have honestly not met anyone who has gotten a permanent modification on their mortgage. I think that the mortgage holders are just blowing a lot of smoke, putting people off with their delay tactics, hoping people would just move out and vacate their property.

  • 23. As  |  November 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Wow, this is very depressing to see no one has been help by these programs. Currently we are in the same spot and looking for help to keep our house. After reading these comments it has made me depress. Is there any legit program that is willing to keep american family in their homes. Banks really need to try to help people in keeping their homes and not snatch them. There is a God that sees all things and I believe that he will deleiver justice. Right now I don not know what to do. My wife is stressing where it is affecting her health. We got behind because of her health and being hospitalize for several months at a time.

    Reply
    • 24. mdconsumerlawyer  |  November 14, 2012 at 10:53 am

      There are programs available but eligibility depends on several factors. FHA, Fannie, Freddie and other loans with some government backing may have even more options. A lot of homeowners do not realize that in many cases Banks are actually required by law to engage in loss mitigation. Not doing so could subject them to legal liability in the form of counterclaims or other civil action by the homeowner.

      Reply
  • 25. sarah dodge  |  June 13, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    We bought our house in 2007. In 2010 we had to move and secured jobs in NC. We could not sale our house because it cost way to much. We ended up having to rent it out, hoping that we would eventually be able to sell it. That never happened and I lost my job down here. On top of that our daughter had to have surgery, which was very expensive. We ended up not being able to keep up with the mortgage payment of our MD home, even with the rent checks coming in. We got behind and tried for short-sale 5 times, each time being denied because the lender decided we did not experience a hardship and could really afford to keep the house. We did not qualify for deed in lieu either. Our house got sold at auction yesterday. Sucks because we know that no matter our hardship, they would have denied a ss/dil anyway, because they get money out of it and a tax write off. The banks don’t give 2 shiznitz about anyone. I am not sure what happens next in the whole process. If anyone has any info that would be great. Also, they need to look at each case on an individual basis and not make crappy blanket rules. The MD home was not our primary res., but NOT by choice. We could never do a loan remod. to try to lower monthly payments to break even so we could wait for the house to increase in price and sale then — the ideal situation. It all just sucks :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Podcast! Miss an episode of Maryland Morning? Podcast it here.

Keep up to date with our RSS feed.

What’s on Our Twitter

  • This hour: What a police scanner tells you about cities, the book that inspired the film "12 Years A Slave", the doc film "After Tiller". 1 hour ago
  • This hour: Identifying & supporting children with autism, a new 'Senior Portrait,' and revisiting a conversation with the late Margot Adler. 2 days ago
  • On this hour: Medical drug shortages, coming to terms with the loss of a loved one, and a documentary about smashing particles together. 5 days ago
  • In this hour: Can caffeine improve your memory? Finding real 'Rosie the Riveters,' in MD (we found one!) and author Mohsin Hamid. 1 week ago
  • On this hour: Medical marijuana in Maryland, a mission to the Sun in 2018, @JRousuck has a theater review, and Baltimore band Sojourne. 1 week ago
MM_logo

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

