3-16-11: Secrets to a Healthy Diet

March 16, 2011 at 8:00 am 2 comments

Every month, our nutrition diva Monica Reinagel stops by our studio to give us nutrition news, tips, and to shed life on myths.  This month, she’s sharing those secrets in her new book:  Secrets for a Healthy Diet:  What to Eat, What to Avoid, and What to Stop Worrying About.

The book includes tips for how to figure out what to buy organic (she says spend your organic bucks on what’s known as the “Dirty Dozen”–find out more at the Environmental Working Group) and whether you REALLY need to drink eight glasses of water  a day.  (Not if you’re eating a lot of water-filled fruits and veggies.)  The book also has recipes such as this delightful cranberry quinoa salad.

You can get a free sample chapter (and a couple more recipes) here. And if you want to listen to Monica on your iPod in addition to on your radio, sign up for her Nutrition Diva podcast.

Entry filed under: Food, Health, On Air, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

3-16-11: Foreclosure Mills 3-16-11: Legislative Lightning: Round Two!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I must ABSOLUTELY disagree with Monica’s assessment of the frequent eating practice. I’ve lost 70lbs eating smaller balanced meal combinations of veggies, fruits, whole grains and proteins every three hours, 5 days a week. I’ve found that I can do this then provide myself a treat (and sometimes completely forego that plan) during the weekends with no ramifications or difficulty in continuing that plan when the weekday comes. My desire to eat increases akin to how I feel a few hours after working out which leads me to believe that my metabolism DOES speed up because of this habit. My best friend began the same diet plan and has lost 30 lbs so far. I have a friend who plays for the Baltiimore Ravens. He lost over 30 lbs and had the best season of his life because his nutrionists put him on the exact same eating plan. Yes, I have to plan my meals and can see how it would be easy to fall off if I didn’t do that but I believe she too quickly dismissed a practice that professional athletes have used with success for years and that I (a women who has struggled with her weight since I was a child) and people like me have found success with when the deprivation practices of other plans have been complete failures.

    Reply
  • 2. Monica Reinagel  |  March 16, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Nicole: I’m glad to hear this approach has worked so well for you and others you know. As you’ve discovered, any eating plan–whether it’s small frequent meals or fewer larger ones–requires planning and will power to succeed. If eating more frequently makes it easier for you to stick to your plan, then that’s your ticket to success.

    Too often, however, people adopt the “eat frequently” part of the equation but fail to exercise the planning and restraint that you’re showing. Research shows that, statistically speaking, people who eat more often simply end up eating more.

    I certainly don’t dismiss eating small frequent meals as a valid approach. I just want keep people from falling into the common traps of this style of eating…and to reassure people that it’s not the ONLY valid approach.

    Lastly, even though it’s working so well for you (hooray!) I can say with relative certainty that it’s not because of any effect on your metabolism. But because it IS working for you, I say: Go with it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Podcast! Miss an episode of Maryland Morning? Podcast it here.

Keep up to date with our RSS feed.

What’s on Our Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

MM_logo

