3-22-11: Remembering Father Tom Composto

March 22, 2011 at 10:16 am 14 comments

Father Thomas F. Composto. Photo http://rhhp.blogspot.com.

At the St. Francis Neighborhood Center, The Rev. Thomas F. Composto spent  four decades doing all he could for Reservoir Hill residents.

He died Wednesday at age 72.

Maryland Morning arts and culture editor Tom Hall has lived in Reservoir Hill for three decades. Today, he looks back on the life of Father Tom, the “Pope of Whitelock Street.”

Entry filed under: History, On Air. Tags: , , .

3-22-11: Diabetes Alert Day This Wednesday: Maryland Morning Screen Test with Alvin Gray

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Quinn  |  March 22, 2011 at 11:06 am

    This was very moving. Thank you, Tom.

    Reply
  • 2. Jacqueline Rhoden-Trader  |  March 22, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Thank you for sharing Fr. Tom’s story. He was a neighbor extraordinaire.

    Reply
  • 3. alessandro  |  March 22, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Fr. Composto .. it was my honor and my pleasure to have known you, work with you and call you my friend. I will miss you and your smiling face. Thank you so very much for your friendship. Rest now, for your long and tireless journey has ended. Job well done my friend for you have indeed made a difference , you have touched so many hearts with lasting peace and love…. You will always be in my prayers, God rest your soul…

    Reply
  • 4. Andrea Composto  |  March 22, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Thank you for writing this and speaking so beautifully about my Uncle. He was a giant among men and I will miss him very much. He truly was one of a kind.

    Reply
    • 5. Beth E. Brown  |  March 23, 2011 at 10:40 am

      This is a wonderful tribute to a beautiful human being! I will miss him dearly and I will cherish all of the memories I have of him forever. Resevoir Hill is a beautiful community that was touched by an Angel, Tom Composto. He was a one-of-a-kind! I love you Uncle Tommy!

      Reply
  • 6. A Little Reflection « Volunteer Maryland  |  March 23, 2011 at 10:38 am

    […] the forefront of my mind was a very peculiar one.  It was with our Executive Director at the time, Father Tom Composto.  Tom’s character is known widely throughout the city of Baltimore.  Some would describe him as […]

    Reply
  • 7. Kasey  |  March 23, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Fr. Tom was truly devoted to the people of Reservoir Hill, but he will also be remembered by many of us who live outside of Reservoir Hill for the time that he spent as a college instructor, his prison ministry, taking the children of Reservoir Hill to visit and sing at nursing homes outside of the community, for sharing his music and wit with us. He was a character of character and one would inevitably be changed forever in some way as a result of knowing him.

    Reply
  • 8. Paul Reyes  |  March 23, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Thank you for this beautiful tribute to my neighbor and my friend, Father Tom.

    Reply
  • 9. mary Ellis  |  March 26, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Thanks, Tom. We Miss Father Tom terriby, but you help us rejoice in his legacy and example.

    Reply
  • 10. David M. Baker  |  March 29, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    My dearest friend, teacher, mentor, and role model has left this earth, but he will never leave my heart. Tom Composto was and will always be one of the best humans I’ve ever known. I am saddened beyond words at his passing.

    Thank you, Tom Hall, for “getting it” and putting such a moving tribute to my friend.

    I miss you, Tommy! FAZZARATTA!

    Reply
  • 11. Tracy Anadale  |  March 29, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Thank you for such a heartfelt tribute to Father Tom. He truly was extraordinary, a great contributor to humanity, simply by seeing everyone’s potential, and showing that he saw it.

    Reply
  • 12. Richard Lane  |  March 29, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    I too, would like to join in the chorus, of praise for a man who was remarkable in so many ways. Father Tom, I will also miss you, and I am sad, to hear of your passing.

    Love always, Richard

    Reply
  • 13. Rob Mercaldo  |  April 2, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Fr. Tom,
    I know you’re smiling down on us! You are a great man, we will miss you, but I am so proud to have known you & to consider you a friend.
    You faught the good fight; you carried your cross. I know Our Lord Jesus has already told you ” JOB WELL DONE!

    Peace In Christ,
    Rob Mercaldo

    Reply
  • 14. Suzanne Kopycienski  |  April 4, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Father Tom – Old Neighbor, Old friend….you will be sorely missed. I still remember the special “masses” we had in your porch at the family’s lake house next to mine.

    Rest In Peace,

    Suzie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Podcast! Miss an episode of Maryland Morning? Podcast it here.

Keep up to date with our RSS feed.

What’s on Our Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

MM_logo

