“I Have Wonderful Friends”: Dudley Clendinen in the New York Times

July 10, 2011 at 11:39 am 5 comments

For several months now on Maryland Morning, writer Dudley Clendinen has been sharing his experience with ALS in a series of very candid conversations with Tom Hall . In today’s New York Times Sunday Review, Dudley makes clear why he has felt compelled to speak so freely about his terminal illness.

You can listen to all of our conversations with Dudley Clendinen at this link.

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: , , .

July 27: Maryland Morning Screen Test presents Pierre and Jamyla Bennu 7-11-11: Tech Talk!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glenn Geller  |  July 10, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Please thank Dudley for sharing his experience, strength and hope in today’s NYTimes article, “The Good Short Life.” My thoughts and prayers are with you Dudley.

    Reply
  • 2. Sheryl Newman  |  July 10, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Thank you Dudley. My 53 year old beautiful brother has Alzheimers and has begun to talk about dying from the desease. Sharing your experience helps me understand in some way, what my brother is experiencing. He goes in and out of clarity, forgets words, and sentences and his articulation of his experience sometimes gets lost. But, I am going to share your experience so maybe he can connect in some way to someone losing his life. Prayers and peace, Sheryl

    Reply
  • 3. Ronald  |  July 11, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Dudley,
    My prayers are with you as you struggle in your poetic way of making life meaningful to others as well as your daughter. Thank you for making the sacrifice of sharing your life with others and all the contributions you have made to our society such as gay rights, elderly care and understanding the southern culture. You are a true prince of a fellow and a fine gentleman in every sense of the word. I salute you sir. God bless you and your daughter.
    Best regards,
    Ronald

    Reply
  • 4. Linda Merryman  |  July 11, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I want to write personally to Dudley, I am writing this much here in case I can’t find a way. If Dudley is open to a more personal letter please let me know.

    I don’t look up things about Lou as my mother died of ALS at 66. I don’t want to know more than I know and yet when I run across an article about someone who is having to move over for Lou I am so touched. I’ve never referred to it as Lou before, but I really appreciate this labeling.

    My Mother’s illness manifested in the same way slurred speech. She had 2 good years with a feeding tube with a pretty good quality of life. And another 6 months that were not good. Her disease went into remission during the time she was receiving cranial sacral treatments. It’s worth a try.

    I was in my late 30s. My heart goes out to Dudley and his daughter. I live in Oregon now. There is a very good recent documentary film called How to Die in Oregon. It might be helpful in regard to making a choice to say when enough is enough. Thank you for being who and how you are with Lou. It will be of great help to many others. I am so very sorry and I wish you many rich moments and amazing blessings. Linda Merryman

    Reply
  • 5. Sara Ann  |  July 12, 2011 at 2:45 am

    This is a beautiful essay, and it speaks to the power of gratitude to alter perspective. I hope readers will go search (and find fairly easily) many interviews with Mr. Clendinen over the years in which he so clearly articulates his views on our culture and particularly, on the status of certain people within it. I am praying that the dignified and thoughtful journey that you are on is not interrupted by those who would judge you for your choices. God bless you and keep you in this life and the next.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Podcast! Miss an episode of Maryland Morning? Podcast it here.

Keep up to date with our RSS feed.

What’s on Our Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

MM_logo

